News Ticker

Music: Black History Month Tribute Show by Nikki Glaspie and the Homies at The Mint

Nikki Glaspie preaching peace, love, equality and charity at her Nikki and the Homies show at The Mint on February 19, 2019. Photo courtesy of Andy J. Gordon ©.

By Andy J. Gordon

February is Black History month and it provided an appropriate theme for Nikki Glaspie’s most recent once a month residency at The Mint. Glaspie and her Homies always dig deep into the soul and funk music catalog to pepper their shows with classic songs that keep everyone dancing. On February 19, 2019 at The Mint in Los Angeles, Glaspie preached about peace, love, freedom and charity while curating a set list loaded with songs that followed those themes. The band honored the black artists that wrote the timeless songs. Her lineup of Homies was a mix of new and returning world-class musicians that put on a great performance.

Here are the artists that performed, the setlist and a few photos of the gig.

The Homies Band


  • Shaundrin “DRiN” Elliott (all night) (Eric Benet, Bernard Wright, Frank McComb, Yarbrough & Peoples, Lucky Peterson and Natalia Jimenez)
  • Victoria Theodore (Beyoncé, Stevie Wonder)


  • Serg D (Earth, Wind & Fire)
  • Juan Ariza (all night)
  • Eric Potapenko (Ledisi)


  • Taiki Tsuyama
  • Uriah Duffy (Whitesnake)
  • Steve Jenkins (Vernon Reid, David Gilmore, Victor Wooten, Corey Glover, John Scofield, The Roots and John Medeski)
  • Brandon Brown (Fergie, The Jacksons, Stevie Wonder)


  • Enrique Sanchez, trumpet (Meghan Trainor)
  • Sean Erick, trumpet (The Regiment Horns)
  • Alex Wasily, trombone (Isley Brothers and many more)
  • Pete Ortega, tenor sax (Beyoncé, Stevie Wonder, Queen Latifah, Ne-Yo, Lionel Ritchie, John Legend, Pharrell Williams, Janelle Monae)
  • Quinn ? (I think it’s Larson), trombone  


  • Nikki Glaspie (and vocals)
  • Ty Coombs


  • Monogem (Jen Hirsch) all night
  • TJ Wilkins (NBC’s “The Voice”)
  • Kudison Kai (Elton John) on “Fight The Power (Part 1 & 2)
  • Joi (Tennessee Slim/Star Kitty) for “Give The People What They Want”

Set 1

1 “A Change is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke with Amanda Brown and Monogem on vocals

2 “Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud” by James Brown with TJ Wilkins on lead vocals

3 “We’re A Winner” by The Impressions (Curtis Mayfield) with Amanda Brown on lead vocals

4 “Am I Black Enough For You?” by Billy Paul with Amanda Brown on lead vocals; with great solos by Alex Wasily on trombone and DRiN on keys

5 “Someday We’ll All Be Free” by Donny Hathaway with Amanda Brown on lead vocals

6 “Talkin’ Loud and Sayin’ Nothing” by James Brown with TJ Wilkins on lead vocals

Set 2

1 “Mighty Mighty” by Earth, Wind & Fire with Nikki, Amanda and Monogem on vocals

2 “A Message From The Meters” by The Meters with amazing Sean Erick trumpet solo

3 “Fight The Power (Part 1 & 2)” by Isley Brothers with Kudison Kai on lead vocals

4 “Give The People What They Want” by The O’Jays with Joi on lead vocals

5 “Harvest For The World” by Isley Brothers with Monogem on lead vocals

6 “Black Man” by Stevie Wonder; TJ on lead vocals

7 “Birdie” by Brides of Funkenstein; featuring Brandon Brown on bass and Nikki Glaspie on lead vocals

About Andy J. Gordon (244 Articles)
Andy J. Gordon, a Los Angeles-based marketing and strategy consultant, made his writing debut in “Brentwood” magazine in 2007. His interests include music, sports, consumer electronics, premium libations, fine dining, travel, fast cars, and enjoying life.